Visual Aid

photo(1)-2

I wanted some art for my foyer – if only to distract guests from the visual cacophony of coats, strollers, hats, helmets and umbrellas – so I created this piece.  In the process I learned that an eye chart is often referred to as a Snellen Chart (named after the Dutch ophthalmologist Herman Snellen, obviously) and I learned that I’m a bit of a sap when I reflect upon the various applications of a ‘welcome’.  It’s a phrase full of love – whether applied to new life (aka babies), the making of new friends, providing shelter for a guest, the return of loved ones after absence, or the figurative “return” of somebody after illness or peril.  It’s an everyday beautiful thing to open your door or yourself to another person.  So I tried to sum all of that up with as many vision related phrases as I could muster.  And as a bonus, my house guests may discover they need corrective lenses.

Welcome Eyechart

This entry was published on May 24, 2013 at 1:10 pm and is filed under home sweet home, imagination. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

